
Armory Conflict in the Standards for Evaluation  
This covers the very basics of armory conflict in the Standards for Evaluation of Names and Armory (the new name 
for the Rules for Submissions).  If you need more details, see section A.5. of the Standards to see the exact rule. 

Your  armory must  not  accidentally  be  too  close  to  any  registered  SCA  armory  or  give  the 
impression that you have a close relationship to a person with registered SCA armory, like being 
that person’s spouse or child. We call both of these things “conflict”.   

Your armory doesn’t conflict with someone else’s armory  if  it has a single  large change  from 
their armory or if it has two smaller changes like those used for cadency (medieval markers to 
show relationships in armory). In some cases, no matter how many technical differences there 
are, your armory may simply look too close to someone else’s – this is called “visual conflict”.   

Larger  changes  (sometimes  called  “substantial  changes”)  that make your armory not  conflict 
with someone else’s (you only need one of these): 

• Your armory adds or removes the primary charge group. 

• Your armory makes a  single  substantial change  that affects  the entire primary charge 
group.  This  includes  substantial  changes  in  type,  in  number,  in  arrangement,  or  in 
posture of that group. Not all changes are substantial.  If you make a smaller change to 
the primary charge group, it may still count as a smaller change below. 

• Your armory makes a substantial change to the field, if it doesn’t have a primary charge 
group. 

OR 

Smaller changes (sometimes called “distinct changes”) that count towards making your armory 
not conflict with someone else’s (you need at least two of these):  

• Your armory changes  the  field  in a way  that affects “half”  the  field.  If your armory or 
theirs is a fieldless badge, it automatically gets this, even if both of them are fieldless. 

• Your armory adds or removes any charge group. 

• Your armory changes the tincture of at least “half” of any charge group. 

• Your armory changes the type of charges of at least “half” of any charge group. 

• Your  armory  changes  the number of  charges within  any  charge  group. However,  this 
doesn’t count if both groups have six or more (including “semy”) charges. 

• Your  armory  changes  the  arrangement  of  charges within  a  charge  group  or  changes 
where the charge group is on the field (like “in canton”, or “in base”). 

• Your armory changes the posture or orientation of at  least “half” of the charges in any 
charge group. 
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“Half”  can  be  a  little  tricky  ‐  it’s  easy  to  half  two  or  four,  but  three  or  a  group  unevenly 
distributed  around  a  line  of  division  is more  complicated.   Here  are  some  rules  on  how  to 
determine a not‐numerically‐half “half”: 

• When a group of three charges on the field is arranged two and one, the bottom charge 
is considered half the charge group. 

• When  a  tertiary  charge  group  of  three  charges  is  on  a  central  ordinary  or  chief,  the 
centermost charge is considered half the charge group. 

• When the field  is divided and a central charge or charge group  is balanced around the 
center of the device, each side of the field is considered “half”, even if they aren’t evenly 
balanced. 

• When the field is divided or an ordinary splits the field into two parts and a primary or 
secondary  charge  group  is  split  so  that  part  of  it  lies  on  each  side,  each  side  is 
considered “half”, even if they aren’t evenly balanced. 

No matter how many  changes you make  to  the  field or  to a not‐numerically‐half  “half” of a 
single charge group, you can only count them once.   For example,  if you change the type and 
the tincture and the orientation of the middle of three charges on a  fess, that only counts as 
one smaller change. 

However,  if you make multiple changes to a whole charge group or to a regular, numerically‐
half “half”, you can count all of those changes. 

Changes that are smaller than a distinct change do not contribute to difference between two 
armorial  designs,  no matter  how many  of  them  there  are,  because  these  kinds  of  changes 
happened  in  period  with  artistic  variation.  That  is,  sometimes  they  were  included  and 
sometimes weren’t, or were sometimes depicted slightly differently in different drawings of the 
exact same armory.  This includes maintained charges and differences in artistic style, including 
details like having the tongue or claws a different color.   

Additionally, for certain charge types, all variants of that charge are considered equivalent for 
conflict  purposes,  and  so  don’t  count  as  a  substantial  or  distinct  change.    For  example, we 
consider all kinds of cats, from lions to wildcats to domestic cats, to be equivalent.  The same is 
true for swords and daggers, and for dogs and wolves and foxes, and for roses and cinquefoils. 

If your armory does conflict with someone else’s registered armory, you’ll want to resolve that 
conflict  before  submitting,  either  by making  changes  or  by  obtaining written  permission  to 
conflict  from them.    If you want to obtain permission and don’t know the person, talk to the 
heralds – they may be able to help track them down. 

 


